DIY Z Palette Tutorial & Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Haul

10.pic.jpgWith the Makeup Geek’s eyeshadow craze all over Youtube and the blogging community, I finally caved in and made my first MUG purchase on Beautybay! Encouraged by my favourite youtuber – Kathleenlights and blogger Jasmine Talks Beauty, I decided on two normal shadows and one foiled shadow – just to start small (before my collection grows out of control!)

9.pic.jpg

MUG Eyeshadow in Bitten & Cosmopolitan £4.95

MUG Foiled Eyeshadow in Grandstand £7.95

As expected, the shadow colours and quality is top notch! The MUG formula is very creamy with little to no fall out. The colour payoff is also amazing and long lasting. I have never tried Mac eyeshadows before so I cannot compare the two. However, I’m not too interested in trying Mac ones when comparing them to the prices of MUG. I shall be doing another MUG order very soon! Do leave any recommendations on what shades I should get next! The blush pans are also on my wishlist…

1.pic.jpgTo be honest, the reason it took me so long to make my first MUG purchase was due to the prices of the Z Palettes. To me, Z Palettes are really just a cardboard box with a magnetic bottom. I honestly could not justify paying £8.95 for a small cardboard palette that gets old so easily. So, I took things into my own hands to DIY a Z Palette!

7.pic.jpg

All you need is:

  • Tin container
  • A4 Magnetic sheet (depending on your container size)
  • Scissors
  • Pen/sharper
  • Measuring tape/ruler

I found the the tin container I used to store my hairpins and used it as the palette. You can always buy these containers on ebay for very affordable prices. I brought the magnetic sheet on ebay as well for only £1.99 (free p&p). Make sure you choose the 0.5mm Self Adhesive Magnetic Sticky Back Plastic.

5.pic.jpg

  1. Measure & record the length & width of the container
  2. Outline the container size on the magnetic sheet
  3. Cut out the desired size of the magnetic sheet
  4. Place the sheet inside the container to ensure it fits
  5. Trim sheet edges if necessary
  6. Remove the self adhesive tape
  7. Stick magnetic sheet to bottom of container

The last step can be tricky as the adhesive is very sticky. This DIY process may require some time and patience, but it saved me £7 on a small Z Palette! For pans that are not magnetic (such as pans you depotted), you can also cut the magnetic sheet into small pieces and it stick onto the back of the pans. The magnet pan will adhere to the magnetic sheet with ease.

2.pic.jpg

As you can see, the container can fit around 9 palettes nicely just like the small Z Palette. I’m really quite proud of myself with this DIY! I think the tin container is more sturdy and durable than the cardboard Z Palette, plus it’s just so cheap and easy to make! I also made a larger Z Palette which can fit larger blush or contour pans and some of my other depotted shadows.

19.pic.jpg

Have fun making your own personalised Z Palette! Please feel free to ask me anything if you need help in the DIY process.

-Appreciating all things beautiful

*This is not a sponsored post. Any sponsorship will be noted in every post made.

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Z Palette Tutorial & Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Haul

Leave a Reply

