Birchbox at Selfridge Manchester Exchange Square

Birchbox at Selfridge Manchester Exchange.jpg

Box price: £15

Products in box: 6 items

Birchbox 2.jpg

I have always wanted to try the Birchbox Selfridge edition. However, as I do not live in London, I always seem to be missing out on the special personalized Birchbox. So when I found out Birchbox was coming to Manchester, I could not wait to finally try my first ever box! The booth I arrived at had a great variety of choices including brands like Benefit, Laura Mercier, NUDE, Sarah Chapman, Rituals, Percy & Reed, This Works, and more! For £15, I got to choose two makeup products, one skincare, one body care, one hair care and one final beauty bonus product.

22.pic.jpg

Makeup:

Benefit They’re Real! Tinted Lash Primer in brown

‘However you wear it, this mink-coloured formula makes all the difference for supercharged lashes’

This was the first pick for my box. I have heard many great reviews about Benefit They’re Real! Mascara. I have a sample size of that ready to be tried after I finish my current mascara rotation, as I like to have a limited number of mascaras opened at a time. I will definitely be using this lash primer in conjunction with the mascara. When I do, I shall report back on my reviews!

Wild About Beauty Lip Pencil Duo in 03 Mia.jpg

Wild About Beauty Lip Pencil Duo in 03 Mia

‘Create a perfectly defined pout with this dual-ended wonder. It defines, conditions and colours!’

This is a brand I have never tried before. Made in Germany, this lip duo has a thin pencil end to line the lips and a thicker crayon-like end to fill in the lip colour. I chose the shade ‘Mia’ which is light nude in colour. I find the lip duo to be slightly drying on my easily chapped lips. Also because it is a pencil, I must constantly sharpen it, which can get a bit troublesome since I don’t own any lip pencil sharpeners (I like to buy ones that don’t require sharpening). I do like the colour as it easily works with any simple makeup look. I quite like the brand itself and might look at other products from this brand to try some more.

Sarah Chapman Skinesis 3D Moisture Infusion Mask.jpg

Skincare:

Sarah Chapman Skinesis 3D Moisture Infusion Mask

‘Bio-cellulose technology helps this sheet mask deliver a powerful boost of moisture to your skin’

Sarah Chapman is a well-known luxury skincare brand. I personally have never tried anything from the brand due to its higher price tag and its target market, which I do not fit in as of yet! (I think it better suits more mature skin type). I chose this mask as an introduction to the brand and also because this mask alone retails for £10. To pay £10 for a one-use product, for me is really quite expensive so I thought it was a real bargain to find such high-end products in Birchbox. I love Asian sheet masks that I bulk buy them whenever I visit Asia so I currently still have quite a few Korean masks to use up. I might do a review on my favourite sheet masks sometime too!

Rituals Honey Touch Body Cream 70ml.jpg

Body care:

Rituals Honey Touch Body Cream 70ml

‘Nurture your skin and mind with this decadent lotion infused with Himalayan honey and Indian rose’

Rituals are known for their amazingly scented body care products. I have tried Ritual creams before and after smelling this one, I knew it was the one. I love the sweet scent from the honey mixed with a slight rose smell altogether. I think Rituals body creams are just the best for smelling nice without the need for perfume!

Macadamia Professional Moisture Shampoo in Nourishing 100ml.jpg

Haircare:

Macadamia Professional Moisture Shampoo in Nourishing 100ml

‘Macadamia and argon oils cleanse, moisturise and repair frazzled strands’

For Haircare I was struggling to choose between this shampoo and the Percy & Reed hairspray. I have never tried either brands before but I have heard great things about Percy & Reed’s hair products. I ended up with the shampoo since I realize I don’t necessarily use hairspray products that much. There are three types of shampoo you can choose from – nourishing, weightless or ultra rich. The lady who was leading me throughout the choosing process recommended the nourishing one for my hair type as I have rather fine but dry hair due to excessive DIY hair dyeing. This shampoo smells amazing and for the size, I find it just perfect to bring on travels without having to worry about running out of shampoo.

This Works Sleep Plus Pillow Spray 5ml.jpg

Beauty bonus:

This Works Sleep Plus Pillow Spray 5ml

‘Beauty sleep in a bottle, this natural lavender blend helps you sleep through the night with ease’

I have previously tried the This Works Deep Sleep Pillow Spray in a sample size as well. I choose the Sleep Plus spray as I often find myself waking up in the middle of the night. I shall try this out and report back on the results for both of these products! So far, I love the lavender scent both sprays have.

Birchbox.jpg

This was my first ever Birchbox experience and I must say, I’m impressed! I was very happy about the wide range of product selection I had. I was also very satisfied with the service Birchbox provided. The lovely young lady who helped me pick out the contents for my box was very patient in leading me and explaining the uses of each product. She also did swatches and opened products for me to smell. Considering it was a Sunday, I was very pleased with the personalized shopping experience Birchbox had. If they were to come back again with another box, I will surely be getting another one! I am also very tempted to subscribe with the discount code they gave me. Of course, I will gladly share my code with my readers so here’s a little bonus of the day!

Enjoy 50% off your first Birchbox subscription box – enter code: SELFDRIGESX at checkout to receive your first box for just £5 (+£2.95 p&p)

Birchbox will be in Manchester Exchange Square until 21st February. They will also be in Selfridges of Manchester Trafford Centre and Birmingham so if you’re interested, make sure to go check out the box yourself!

-Appreciating all things beautiful

*This is not a sponsored post. Any sponsorship will be noted in every post made.

2 thoughts on “Birchbox at Selfridge Manchester Exchange Square

  1. That’s so awesow that you got to experience that. They had a Pop Up Shop that I took advantge of as well. It’s really a great way to try things before buying them full size. Great images and post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

